Change

   We made a trip to Wichita the other day and decided to just take Simeon with us. I loaded up the extra crate we have for him to sleep in when we take him along so he would have his own place so to speak. We arrived at my sister’s and I set the crate up in the bedroom where we sleep. I realized at that moment I had forgotten to get his pillow out of his regular crate so I placed his blanket out of my pickup in the bottom for him to sleep on.
   As we were retiring for the evening I told Simeon to “Go to bed,” at which time he jumped right up on the bed and lay down. Of course I told him to get down, which he did, and told him to go to bed at which time he jumped right back up on the bed. I literally had to herd him into the crate. He was not happy!
   I do not know whether it was the crate or the lack of his pillow that had him disturbed but he was not impressed at the notion of staying in this particular crate away from home. I suppose he just does not like change and was reacting to the difference that had confronted him.
None of us like change very much. A friend of mine once said, “The only person who likes change is a baby with a dirty diaper and they are not happy until it is all over with.” Change can be good. Change can be bad. Regardless of which category it lands in it always involves loss.
   TruDee and I, and the cats and Simeon are in the middle of change right now and so are our churches. It is uncomfortable, unsettling, difficult, and filled with unknowns and expectations. I have been appointed to a new church in Wichita and we will be leaving in July to serve in a new place. I want to take this moment to say thanks to all of you who read this who are from here. Thank you for your care and support over this past five years. They have been good years.
   I suppose not a lot unlike Simeon’s pillow, we will carry familiar and comfortable memories and gifts from this place at the end of June which will make our settling in a new place a little easier and a little more like home. Thank you for grace and the gifts of love in Christ.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Change”

  1. Alastair (aka JRT) Says:

    I am sure that all of us who read this blog will join with me in wishing you and Sweetie and Simeon and the cats all the best in your new charge. May God be with all of you in this challenging time of change.

  2. Andrea Nicholson Says:

    Pastor Little,

    I am a member of College Hill United Methodist and today read your blog post on change. Sunday was Pastor John Martin’s last day to preach at College Hill and we all felt the sadness and pains of change as we said our goodbyes to him. But following that sadness now is excitement for a new beginning. One of the things Pastor John did on Sunday was read an email he received from a member of the church he is moving on to, and it gave me such comfort and hope knowing that he will have a welcoming congregation to go to. I want you and your congregation to know that we are excited to have you leading our church family. You will be entering a congregation of welcoming and accepting and loving people. I am looking forward to getting to know you and your family. God Bless you and your churches in this time of transition!

    Andrea Nicholson

  3. Anita Ewart Says:

    I enjoyed this message on Change! Thinking of you and TruDee and Simeon as you begin your new charge in Wichita tomorrow morning. You sure made a difference in the CUMC and I know you will at College Hill too! It is those unknowns that make it a little difficult for us when we make a change. You know more about that than we do since you have moved more times than us. We will have a new minister at our Walnut Hills United Methodist Church tomorrow as well. Just think about all of the Methodist ministers that are feeling the stress of change right now! The good Lord will help everyone work through this time of Change!

Leave a Reply

