Getting Started

   One of the first things we did when we moved into our new home was put up a fence in the backyard for Simeon. Simeon is our dog and is half labrador and half shar pei. Our oldest son helped me put the fence in that first Saturday afternoon. It is underground fence that emits a radio signal and Simeon wears a collar which recieves the signal. Well, truth be told, he would prefer it not receive the signal because that is when it begins to vibrate which is a warning to him that he has gone far enough.
   Once we had the “fence” in I began training him as to where the boundaries were. I think it is probably something with all the change that has been going on, but suffice it to say he was really not interested in being trained. He would take a step and sit down, take a step and sit down, take a step and sit down.
   I finally took him off his leash and decided maybe he wanted to “train” himself. Then he just sits in the middle of the yard, a safe distance from the boundary, and stares longingly at the back door. We have been in the house a little over a week and though he has not ventured far from his middle spot, he has begun to explore a little more in the yard.
   I suppose it is one ways he deals with change, a little at a time until he gets comfortable with his new surroundings. I suppose that is how we all like to deal with change, a little at a time until we get comfortable with our new surroundings.
Though sometimes a little at a time is not always an option. A friend of mine once told me, “Coming into a new church is a little like stepping on to a train that is already at full speed.” What a joy it is for me to be here at College Hill UMC, Not You Ordinary Church, and at this point it feels a little like I am stepping on to a 747 in full flight, but I am sure I, trusting in the grace of the Spirit, I will be cruising along soon.
   We will take a little wisdom from Simeon and perhaps sit here in the middle of all that is good, and grace-filled, and open ourselves to see how and where we can best be about the work of Love in the City, affirming those healthy boundaries as well as challenging the unhealthy walls.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Getting Started”

  1. Alastair (aka JRT) Says:

    What a wonderful exciting time for you and Sweetie and Simeon and the whole fam damnily. Vaya con Dios my friend.

  2. Nancy Bolz Says:

    I haven’t had a chance to introduce myself in person, but I will shortly. I figure the barrage of folks that you’re being introduced to right now during your transition is a bit overwhelming. I’m Nancy and have gone to CHUM for almost ten years. It’s a great place to be from my perspective! I coordinate the cappuccino crew and take care of the altar in the 9:40 service. We’ll meet soon and I’ll introduce you to my family! 🙂 Your first two sermons have been great — you seem to be a great fit to our church! Welcome aboard!

  3. Leslie Wright Says:

    We’ve visited College Hill several times and were delighted to visit on your first Sunday. Now we’re back in Wichita from a lovely vacation in Michigan. We plan to attend this week. As you branch out from your new house, swing around the corner to the 1100 block of Woodrow. We are your Riverside neighbors. Welcome

Leave a Reply

