Peace

   I do not know if they were left there on purpose. I suspect that they were laid aside while cleaning out around the altar area, but they were there nonetheless. There are three of them; doves on the rail next to where I sit at the front of the sanctuary just behind the pulpit. They are made of plastic, perhaps glass, and covered in glitter. I suppose they served some decorative purpose on a flower arrangement or a candle on the altar.
   I pondered them from my seat at the 8:30am Sunday morning service. I am sure they had not been there before, though I could not swear to it. Maybe they have been there all along and I had simply not been aware of them, but I suspect not. As I reflected on them, their white plastic and glitter sparkling with the overhead light, they caused me to pause.
   There was a part of me that wanted them to have been left for me, or rather for us, not just us as a church but us as a community, city, and world; doves as a symbol of Peace in a world where there seems to be less and less of it.
   I walked back out in the sanctuary today and stood at the rail where they are still perched. I breathed a deep breath, closed my eyes, and listened for a Word. You know, it does not matter whether they were left there for me or not, they are there, peace; a Word of grace within me to be spoken through me, through us, for a world that longs for peace.
   If I want peace in the world the best place to begin that process is within me, and if I can find peace then those I encounter along this journey of life might also find peace within themselves, and so the move continues from one child of God to the next.
   Thank you to whomever left these messengers of peace at the front of the church, whether they were intentional or not, they brought a moment of peace in my heart and soul, and I pray that in and through our journey together, one day…one day there might be Peace on Earth Good Will to ALL.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

