The Question

   As most of you know Simeon, my dog, is half Labrador and half Shar-Pei. The Shar-Pei comes out most noticeably in his short ears and his ample skin. We have often said he looks a bit like a worried lab with his furrowed brow which is almost a permanent expression. When he was little we thought it was a wise look, now that he is older it really looks more worried and/or quizzical than wise, of course that may be in part because we know him better now.
   He just constantly looks as if he has a question, right on the tip of his tongue. If you catch him in the right mood he will talk to you, kind of a inquiring growl. When he furrows his brow and goes into one of those sessions I often wonder if he is trying to ask something and probably thinks I am the dense one for not understanding.
   I have been pondering questions the last few days in preparation for my next sermon; questions of all kinds, questions of life, questions of faith, questions about God, what defines a good question, and what defines a bad question. I remember more than one teacher throughout my life who said there is no such thing as a dumb question, though I think I have asked a few that really pushed the envelope.
   There are questions which have easy answers, there are questions that have difficult answers, there are easy questions and difficult questions, and there are questions that simply have no answer. I was raised in a family that encouraged questions, raised by a mom and dad that almost insisted on questions, and especially in regards to life and faith. They wanted us to ask so we would know, and know so what we believed about the important things of life and faith would be ours and not just mimicking what our parents believed.
   And within all of that there was always the tempering that there were just some things we do not know, perhaps cannot know, especially around the topic of God, the Spirit, the Divine, the mysterious Presence in whom we live and move and have our being. The Spirit is a mystery, a Presence in and with us that draws us closer and deeper into the journey and connects us one to the other with bonds of Love that cannot be broken. I cannot explain it, but I know it is real. I have lots of questions, and few answers.
   And so as I journey through this life and faith I suppose there will be times like my faithful Simeon, my brow will be furrowed asking questions that only seem to make sense to me. And yet walking along this life with the love of my friends and family I will continue to know the connection I have to those around me and to all of creation in and through the Love of the One who knows, even as I do not.

2 Responses to “The Question”

  1. Gregg & Jo Little Says:

    Hi Kent-
    So good to see you and TruDee over the weekend!
    Please add us to your email list so we can get all your blogs!

  2. pilgrim Says:

    I used to tell my students that I gave the same tests every year, but I took precaution to change the answers

Leave a Reply

