He Ain’t Heavy …

   There is a saying, “If your dog is overweight you aren’t getting enough exercise.” I knew he had as I have not taken or had the time to walk him as I should, but it became even more noticeable after a friend said to Simeon, “The city life is agreeing with you Simeon,” referring to the fact that Simeon has put on a few pounds in the last several months.
    My lack of exercise and my eating habits became even more evident after some tests right before Christmas and my doctor telling me I need to make some changes. So for the New Year, and years to come, I am resolved to change the way I live and exist on this good green earth.
   I suppose it comes at an opportune time with the upcoming sermon series I have planned, which I planned prior to the new information on my health. Over the next several weeks I will be focusing on getting a good, holistic, and healthy start on the New Year. Here at College Hill we will be looking at Spiritual Health, Intellectual Health, Physical Health, Financial Health, and Relational Health. The overarching theme will come from the scripture that refers to the greatest love of all, “Love God with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength and your neighbor as yourself,” this truth of love is contained in other sacred texts as well and will serve to guide us through the coming weeks.
   I hope you will join me on this journey of health and wholeness as we are mindful of the Spirit in which we exist and the Love we yearn to know and show. In the meantime I will see if I can slim Simeon down a little and maybe in the process myself too.
   It is one of the many ways we seek to be faithful to the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the family. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table.

Leave a Reply

