A Different God

I have been a bit perplexed as to how and if I should respond. But those who know me well know that I usually cannot just let things like this pass without some kind of response or comment. Over the past few weeks there has been a good deal of, and in my opinion too much, coverage of the end of the world. If I understand correctly it was all suppose to have begun or end on May 24th of this year. Now I understand the date has been moved to sometime in October.
Predicting the end is not a new phenomenon, it has been going on for a long time and I suspect it will continue as long as it serves some kind of purpose for the predictor. As I research this kind of theology and image of God and the faith it seems to me a theology and image of God grounded in fear; fear of wrath, fear of tribulation, fear of violence, fear of being left behind, all somehow designed to “scare the hell out of us” both figuratively and literally.
I have long been frustrated with this understanding of the faith and image of God. In recent years I have become even more frustrated with the media in our country and world that seems bent on reporting and giving primary air time to these voices at the exclusion of an alternative understanding and image of the faith and God. I tend to believe fear sells much better than love and acceptance, but that is my own bias.
Of course in our world I do not place all the blame on the media some of the blame has to be placed on those of us who have an alternative faith journey and understanding; the old adage “the squeaky wheel gets the grease” comes to mind. Those of a fear based faith and image of God tend to be the loudest and we who find comfort in a God of love and a journey of acceptance and grace have a propensity for a quieter manner, content to a personal faith that is welcoming and non-confrontational.
Maybe it is time to change our approach. I would not promote a confrontational style but certainly a style that speaks louder and more often. With all the current media coverage and attention to this fear ridden kind of faith there should be great opportunity to share a different view, a different understanding, a different God if you will. We should use this opportunity to speak to and invite others into an understanding of God that is grounded in grace, permeated in welcome, and imbued with love. I believe it is time to be intentional about sharing a faith in a God who is not interested in “scaring the hell” out of you, but rather who loves you just as you are, who would never leave you behind, and who welcomes you with open and outstretched arms of grace.
I will be beginning a new Summer Sermon Series intentionally grounded in a Progressive Christian understanding of the God of love and grace. I pray you will be able to join us for the series.
It is one of the many ways we seek to be faithful to the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the family. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table.
Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

One Response to “A Different God”

  1. pilgrim Says:

    AMEN

Leave a Reply

