Anyone There?

I suppose I should have called someone but I guess I figured if no one had been there it had already been checked out. When I arrived at the church this morning a little before 5:00am the alarm was already going off. I looked at the display and it said simply “West Hall Movement.”
I turned on the hallway lights and walked down to the kitchen and back and did not hear or see anything. I started the coffee and set my computer up in my office. When the coffee was done I went back to the parlor kitchen and retrieved the pot and stepped into the hallway and looked to the west again. No noise, no movement, nothing so I spoke aloud, “The door is unlocked and the alarm is off, if there is someone in here you can go now, I am going to my office to go to work.” I carried my pot of coffee into the office, locked the outer office door and left the south door to my office closed and locked, sat down at the computer with my cup of coffee and went to work.
I suppose in hindsight I should have called someone, at least the police to see if the alarm had been called in and if indeed someone had checked it out, which would have been the safe thing to do. I am not sure why I didn’t but it is all said and done now and everything was/is fine.
It makes me wonder and ponder though why I do things like that. I confess I was uneasy, perhaps even a little fearful, but obviously not so much I thought about calling anyone. I had things to do so I continued my routine and my work and finished my task.
So what is the lesson in all this? …good question. On one level it is good to live a life that minimizes fear, a life grounded and guided by trust and love. On another level it is good to live a life that is safe and prudent. Knowing God is always with us can be a comforting, trust inducing, and fear reducing approach to life. At the same time I hear my own words in that regard I used to share with my two sons when they headed out the door of our home, “Don’t do anything stupid.” I am not sure my actions this morning were stupid, but certainly not the safest of decisions.
Visiting with Tim before I left for the day I discovered that we probably have a bad sensor and will need to get it fixed, that did give me some relief. Next time I will probably call someone so as to be safe and sensible.
As you go through this week I pray you know the comforting and assuring presence of the Spirit in and through those around you, and as you journey through the days to come please be safe.
It is one of the many ways we seek to be faithful to the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the family. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Anyone There?”

  1. Raye Street Says:

    I enjoyed reading this blog, Kent. I, too, tend to not be as prudent as a situation might require. i probably would have done pretty much what you did. If reporting a false alarm would have cost a fee, my first inclination would have been to save money by not reporting. Good to know you are safe & that nothing was stolen.

  2. Keith Says:

    Kent, I imagine it feels strange to be the only one inside such a huge church. Reminds me of a quote from a physicist (I’m terrible at remembering sources & names, sorry). He was commenting on the insufficiency, I guess, of religions in their attempts to roll the universe into an explainable formula, a tidy story that helps humans feel like we know the reasons, the outcomes, and the supposed-to’s. Comparing the humongous universe that he had studied for years against how religions seem to present it all as a setting that revolves around just us, as if the only beings that matter to God are the homo sapiens on our little planet, he said “the stage is too big for the drama.”

    Thought you might appreciate that thought.

    With such a big stage, and realizing that I’m not the main character, it was refreshing to hear your message today about community. We’re in it together, whatever the purpose and outcome. We don’t have to be, and shouldn’t be, alone. Thanks for that message.

    After 3 exploratory visits, I’m liking CHUM. I’ve struggled to find a faith community that feels like my kids and I can fit in, participate, and find friends. Look forward to another visit next week.

    Peace.

    Keith

Leave a Reply

