Moderation

Simeon and I went fishing the other morning with a friend of mine up close to Hutchinson. My friend brought his dog and his son and girlfriend met us there as well with their two dogs. While we prepared to go out in the boats the four of them ran, wrestled, jumped, barked, ran, wrestled, ran, and wrestled, well suffice to say I was tired just watching them in the first few minutes.
Robert and I started out into the water to do some fishing and I looked back to make sure Simeon was not going to try and follow us, he was too busy chasing a toad along the edge of the water to notice we had even left. We fished along the bamboo and cattails working our way around the pit, catching some very nice largemouth bass I might add.
We had been at it for at least two hours if not three as we started to think about working our way back around to the dock when I heard some rustling in the tall bamboo and cattails that framed the water. And then a head poked out, all you could see was his panting face, it was Simeon. I told him to go back to the truck and he disappeared into the green wall, but then about every thirty yards or so his head would poke back through as he kept tabs on us. We arrived back at the dock to four happy dogs that made up the greeting committee.
Simeon hung close to me as we walked back and forth cleaning our fish and then getting ready to have as sandwich. He was “clingy” enough it made me think he thought I had deserted him earlier and he wasn’t going to let me go again. He was also limping and licking his paws and he lay at my feet. The pads of his paws were red and sore due to his over abundance of running, wrestling, and jumping. In addition to the sore and red paws the sharp edges of the rocks and I suspect the bamboo and cattails had cut a few places on his legs and sliced into some of his pads; he could hardly walk.
I got him home and gave him a bath and he spent the next couple of days pretty much curled up in his chair licking his wounds. He is now healed up and back to his old self.
Simeon’s excursion this past week reminded me of a quote from a friend of mine, I believe it is a Buddhist quote; “In all things moderation, even moderation.” Moderation is almost always wise advice regardless of what activity or cause we are involved in. At the same time there are situations, issues, circumstances, when moderation is not an option, one just needs to do what needs to be done.
I hope this week you have the wisdom to know when to slow down and be present in mindful moderation in what you need to get done. I also hope you have the courage and persistence to know when moderation is not the best option and give yourself fully to the causes of the Spirit of grace, justice, kindness, and love.
It is one of the many ways we seek to be faithful to the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the family. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table.
Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

Tags:

One Response to “Moderation”

  1. Barbara K. Starr Says:

    Loved this Kent. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

