Paying Attention

In some sense I suppose it was inevitable, one always hopes for the best and they do not have to find some meaning or life and faith lesson in a situation like that. I pulled away from the house early Sunday morning about 5:20am on the scooter and headed for the church. I love that time of morning on the scooter, it is cool, quiet, and little to no traffic on my usual route along First Street. I am always conscious of my speed keeping it at 30 mph and no more than 35, it is always an enjoyable ride through downtown.

I was just coming out of the curve near the Farm Credit building, the only thing I can think of is I took my eyes off the street for just a moment to see what color the stop light was going to be when I arrived at the intersection. That is when it happened, a couple of short jerks of the front wheel and the next thing I knew I was skidding down the curb head first. I think the hardest part pride-wise is I really do not know what happened, whether it was a rock on the street or if I glance across that seam between blacktop and concrete curb and gutter, all I remember is just how fast it happened and there I found myself laying in the gutter at 5:30am in the morning. I got up, called TruDee who came and saved me, got the scooter home, cleaned up, changed clothes and took the pickup to the church. Ultimately I was very fortunate, there was no traffic that early, I have no broken bones, and other than a ruined suit, a bum knee and elbow, and some bruised ribs I am in pretty good shape, although I have some muscles I had forgotten about or did not even know I had.

I really do not know what happened but if I am to take a lesson away from this experience I suppose it has to do with being a little too comfortable and needing to be more attentive and awake my surroundings. Even when things are going really well it is good practice to evaluate, reevaluate, and rethink what one is doing so as to stay on the creative edge of life and faith. If I do not stay mindful of my environment it can become too familiar and before I know it I am in the rut of “that’s the way I have always done it.”

Sometimes life has a way of redirecting me, calling my attention to what I am doing, and telling me I need to pay more attention to what is going on around me. If I become too comfortable in my way without thought or attention it can be easy to be caught by surprise and find myself laying in the gutter, pun intended, life passing me by. I think Buddha would agree as I journey through this sermon series and my classes at the Center with encouragement to stay in the moment and mindful of where I am. I think Jesus would agree when he says to pay attention to the birds, the lilies of the field, to see him in those we meet in the moment where we are.

Take some time this week to be intentional about the present moment, and if you are caught by surprise look for the opportunity to learn, to change, to be transformed through the love and kindness of the Spirit.

It is one of the many ways we seek to be faithful to the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the family. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table.
Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Paying Attention”

  1. pilgrim Says:

    happy u r ok and grateful 4 th smiles and attitude you reflect from christ and the buddah

Leave a Reply

