Being Vulnerable

I tease Simeon all the time about being a “mama’s boy.” I suppose it is just that mama’s touch TruDee has when we are quietly at home. You can usually find him close to her in whatever room she finds herself. Oh, he is always excited when I come home and greets me enthusiastically but once the wagging, ear scratching, hugging, and licking are done he usually returns to the spot where she is.

He is my boy when it is time to go for a walk or a ride in the pickup; he just seems to have an intuition about those things. I suppose he just knows my routine enough or my body language and speech that when preparing for a walk or thinking about taking him for a spin he senses it and is ready at the door.

One of my favorite times he seems to invite me into his own little world is when he is laying down and I will walk by and there is softness to his look as he rolls over, feet pointed to the sky waiting for a full tummy rub.

Generally, I am told that is not a natural posture for a dog as it exposes their weakest areas and makes them vulnerable to attack and harm. Simeon knows I am not going to attack or harm him, there is a trust I believe for him in that posture. I suppose there would be those who would see it in a subordinate/master relationship and I would probably agree with that to some degree. But I choose rather to see it as a sign of trust.

There have been times when Simeon has taken up for me and shown his protective side and literally stood between me and danger protecting and defending. But I find in this posture and occasional ritual between him and me a sense of ultimate trust, a willingness of vulnerability as a sign of love and embrace.

This coming Sunday we will be continuing our series on the Eight Fold Path of Buddhism and the Teachings and Parables of Jesus. Sunday we will be celebrating World Communion Sunday and speaking on “Right View, A Stick in the Eye” dealing with forgiveness and grace. Forgiveness and grace are aspects to our faith journey that require trust and vulnerability; a willingness to open our hands and our hearts and let another in.

I will continue to honor Simeon’s trust in me when he is at his most vulnerable, and I will continue to trust his instincts when I find myself in need of his presence. Take some time this week to think about your most vulnerable times, and trust the Spirit of God is with you, most profoundly in and through those who accompany you along the Way.

It is one of the many ways we seek to be faithful to the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the family. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table.
Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

