Fishing Zen

I stopped just south of Burrton the other day on my way home from a meeting in Great Bend. I had made earlier plans to meet my good friend from Kansas City at our favorite fishing hole late in the afternoon to get in a few hours on the water and catch up on solving all the world’s troubles.

I love to go fishing, I primarily fish with artificial bait casting in close to the reeds or stumps or limbs where the bass like to stay. For me there is something a bit Zen-like in the moment, getting into a rhythm, dropping the lure in just in the right spot. Recently I have said I would like to learn how to fly fish, it too looks a bit Zen-like, with the smooth motions and accurate casts. I asked once when taking Tai Chi classes if we could develop a fishing posture and move, it seems only natural to me.

We had a really good outing that day and caught quite a mess of fish, although for me fishing is the most important part and catching is just a bonus. Toward the end of our time on the water as the sun was setting on the horizon and the oranges and purples were streaming through the trees I sat my pole down in the boat and paused. I sat there and just soaked in the beauty of the evening, a cool breeze, the brilliant color, the glassy water, and the sounds of birds and other critters in the tall cattails around us. I just sat and tried to truly be in the moment.

You know, even when we are relaxing doing the things we love to do, even when what we are doing is filling our cup and renewing our spirit, it is good to stop and simply be in the moment. Jesus knew how to do that well, in our current sermon series I have come to know Buddha knew well how to simply be, it is good practice, it is good medicine. Take some time this week to set down your heavy load, or even pause in your play and relaxation and be.

It is one of the many ways we seek to be faithful to the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the family. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table.
Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

