On the Edge of Great Things

Practically the first thing I do once I get to the church in the morning is start a pot of coffee in the parlor kitchen. There are rumors in the church not very many folks around like my coffee, I like it rather strong, it has been referred to as sludge among other names. But nonetheless, I do like my coffee first thing in the morning and the sooner the better.

I have developed a bad habit though here in the last several weeks. Rather than waiting for the pot to finish brewing I take my cup to the kitchen, carefully lean the coffee carafe back and slip my cup in under the stream of freshly brewed coffee. It is not generally a good practice because one always loses just a bit in the transfer, but a quick swipe with a towel cleans it up.

As I was sneaking my first cup this morning the Buddhist classes I had taken a month or so ago came to mine. The Teacher at the center spoke often about all the opportunities a day provides to practice patience. In the moment there I was unwilling to wait just a few minutes for my morning coffee. To make matters worse just as I removed the carafe and sat my cup so the stream of coffee could fill it, it was done. In this case I found myself impatient to the point of not waiting even a few seconds. I confess, patience does not seem to be my long suit in many situations.

Sitting here at my desk with my fresh coffee I am pondering patience, the Christmas Season, and our gracious Community of Faith here at College Hill. Let me first say what a blessing it is to be here in your midst as Pastor as well as one whom you read in this blog. TruDee and I have felt so welcomed and the community at College Hill fast became Home for us. Whether you are part of our Community of Faith or a follower of the blog and/or a follower on Facebook, thank you to each and every one of you for your care and your support over this last year and a half.

I also want to say that I believe things are very much moving in the right direction. There is so much positive energy around us and I believe the Spirit of grace, that Divine Presence is palpable among all of you as we move into the future. There are many challenges that still face us as a Progressive Christian voice, but we are facing each one as they arise and have persevered with grace and determination. I believe, with every ounce of who I am, we are on the verge of great things, just on the threshold of newness that will continue to carry us into a bright and wondrous future. It is not going to happen overnight, but I believe it is on the way, and I have to keep reminding myself to practice patience.

It is a good part of what this season in the church is all about, Advent, preparation for the coming of Christmas, Love born again among us, a light that dwells within each and draws us together into a brilliant light in our community and world. We are College Hill United Methodist Church, we are a Progressive Theological voice in our community and online, and we are Not Your Ordinary Church, and thanks be! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for who you are, for who we are and may each and every one of you have a Happy of Holiday and a Merry Christmas! Love to you!

It is one of the many ways we seek to be faithful to the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the family. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

