Rethinking the Cross

Simeon exhibits all the normal behavior for a dog of his size and make up. He loves to play, run, and wrestle a bit. He enjoys a good game of fetch for about three or four retrievals then if “you want it so bad stop throwing it over there and you can go get it yourself” attitude takes over. He will chase and rough house a bit with Hobbes the cat; well as much as a sixty-five pound dog can wrestle with a 10 pound cat without doing any damage.

   I enjoy watching the two of them go at it in respectful play. It takes a bit of a willingness to be vulnerable on both their parts to engage in such activity; Hobbes has to trust Simeon will not actually eat his head when it is in his mouth and Simeon has to trust Hobbes will not actually do any significant damage with his sharp claws. I see that vulnerability now and then in Simeon more than I do the cat. When Simeon is being a bit lazy and I give him a good ear or back scratch and he rolls over on his back for the belly rub. It is the most vulnerable position for a dog, or for any animal for that matter. It takes trust and high level of comfort in the presence of those who love him.

   This week at College Hill is the last Sunday of the Sermon Series “Rethinking the Way; An Emerging Faith.” Sunday we will be “Rethinking the Cross.” What does the cross mean for you? What comes to mind when you think about it or see it displayed in the many ways it is in our culture and society? We will be considering and pondering many of the traditional understandings and seeking to see it through a progressive theological lens focused on the issues of vulnerability, trust, and ultimately unconditional love as we consider the Way of Jesus and our Emerging Faith. I hope you will join us on this continued journey.

   For Simeon being vulnerable and trusting is just one more way he teaches me about what it means to live life fully in the Presence of the Divine which will not let us go.

   It is one of the many ways we seek to be faithful to the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the family.  Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table.

   Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Rethinking the Cross”

  1. Carole Shepherd Says:

    I decided to read your blog. The comment about being in the light reminded me when I want a deep meditation I imagine that God is a pool of water. The setting is natural. I walk in and begin to become one with the water by each atom of me dispersing and being surrounded by the water. The pool is deep. I do not cease being me, I am just different there I come back to the surface and each atom of me is back, renewed. I am coming to realize that you don’t have to die to have a different life. I fee that I have gone into the pool and come back through a tunnel into a different life. Life now is certainly different than it was a year ago. (Time is hard to keep track of when you don’t have Church to ground the week)

    • littlerev Says:

      Love the imagery you use Carole, rich and deep. And yes, time gets away from us. Thanks for staying connected. Peace and Light for Your Journey! K

Leave a Reply

