Recharged

One of my least favorite things to encounter along this journey of life is car trouble. There was a day I knew enough to work on my own car and did not enjoy it then, and in one of my “previous lives” or careers I worked on other’s cars just long enough to know I do not have that gift. Today, I probably know just enough about my vehicle to be dangerous and any mechanic worth his or her salt would just as soon I not work on my own car before bringing it to them with a problem.

This last Sunday I got up early as I always do and started the pickup and came to the church with no problem at all. After church we were going out to lunch with friends and TruDee and I climbed in the pickup to lead the way. I turned the key and the motor groaned slowly and finally started. TruDee and I both said, “Uh oh, that doesn’t sound good.” Sure enough after lunch we all went back to the parking lot and I climbed in the pickup and turned the key…nothing. The battery was dead as dead could be. Luckily our friends had not left yet and gave us a ride back to TruDee’s car at the church and we did what we had to do to get the truck to a shop for a checkup and a new battery.

We began the journey of Lent this last Wednesday. We often think Lent just has to do with our Roman Catholic brothers and sisters, but it is a tradition held long in the church general. It is most usually seen through a lens of self-reflection, repentance, sacrifice, and preparation for Easter.

These are all appropriate images and practices for the season of Lent. I would like to tweak the journey just a bit though. I have been in your midst long enough now such “tweaking” should not surprise you as we seek to be a Progressive Community of Faith and seek to bring fresh thought and understanding into the church and journey of faith.

I would like to make this sojourn together as a time of reflection and refilling our cups, so to speak. Our lives can get so busy, dictated by schedules and calendars, deadlines and places to be that we often to not take time to reflect. Our batteries need charged every now and then, lest we find ourselves stuck somewhere unable to function, turning the “key” of life with God and…nothing.

I believe it is also a time of acknowledgement that we are human, fully human, with all the potential for good and short comings our humanness holds. I believe it is important to consider that, ponder the fact and know the Divine Presence knows that as well and is present in and with us for encouragement and strength for the journey back toward wholeness and a life of justice, kindness, humility, grace, and love. And when we find ourselves stranded in life, in faith, in this journey it is important to know we do not journey alone and we have one another to offer help along the way back to a fully charged life with God.

Join us beginning Sunday February 26, 2012 as we begin a new Sermon Series, “Breaking Free; The Kindom Experiment.” We will be remembering, reflecting, pondering, and practicing what it means to be a Progressive United Methodist Church here in the city. Hopefully it will be a time of renewal where our batteries might be recharged for a life guided by Wisdom, encouraged by Boldness, and grounded in Gracefulness.

It is one of the many ways we seek to be faithful to the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the family. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table.
Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

Leave a Reply

