Work to Rest

I think Simeon sleeps with one eye open and an ear too for that matter. If I watch closely when he sleeps you can see his brow working, eyes and ears twitching, seemingly ready for anything and the slightest sound or movement in his vicinity will rouse him to attention and/or a bark depending on his place of napping. Now and then when he is laying down I can see him watching with one eye, sometimes he is watching me to see what my next move is just waiting.

He does sleep sound too, those times he is on his rug or bed deep in the recesses of his mind, he will snore or you can see his paws flexing as if running and muffled barks as he is obviously chasing something or protecting the house from some imaginary intruder or other animal! When he is in that mode he is rather dead to the world and it takes much more to rouse him than otherwise. Overall though I think Simeon has a hard time “shutting it off” to get into that sleep mode. He is a good watch dog, just a good dog in general and I suppose on one level or another just doesn’t want to miss anything. For him in a dog’s world it is his work. Standing guard at the front door, marching to and fro from back to front checking the windows and yard for those who might draw his concern. It is what he does.

Like dog like owner they say. I have a hard time “shutting it off” sometimes. In my waking hours my mind is full and busy, pondering if you will, ways, different ways, better ways, challenging ways, the ways we have always done things, and ways that are out of the box and new. TruDee knows I play mental leapfrog pretty regularly especially if we are in the car; it is because I have a hard time “shutting it off,” or maybe it is just a lack of focus. It is one of the reasons, though I continue to work on my practice, I struggle with meditation and stilling my mind, simply being in the Presence as I encourage us all to be each Sunday and each day. I recognize it is not easily achieved but I think the continued practice is helping, but I have a hard time stilling the busyness in my head.

However, when it is time to sleep that is a different story most of the time. Unless I have something that is really causing me anxiety when my head hits the pillow…lights out! It can be frustrating for TruDee because not unlike the previous subject in this writing I can be known to be a little, well, noisy when I sleep…and I am almost always to first one into dreamland.

This coming Sunday in our Lenten Sermon Series we will be looking at moving from “Work to Rest.” Our work can become a prison for us, walling us in from the rest of the world and if we are to be healthy and whole we need to find times and ways to “shut it off” for a bit and rest. Join us this coming Sunday as we continue to live into this emerging progressive faith and find ways to carve out a bit of rest in the midst of our work.

It is one of the many ways we seek to be faithful to the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the family. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table.
Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

Leave a Reply

