Out of the Box

We attended the video and information gathering last Wednesday with Dr. Margo Martin which explored the benefits of a whole food plant based diet. It was very informative and interesting and a group of us have decided to move toward that way of eating for our health and for the care of our planet.

I remember a year ago last December as my cardiologist finished the heart cath he had just performed on me and our conversation as I lay on the table. He mentioned things like more vegetables, less red meat, more beans, and even had the nerve to mention the “t” word…tofu. He is a very health conscious eater and has encouraged me more than once to do that.

I did for some time eat along the lines of his suggestions and did very well with it. Though I had let that way of life go for the last many months we are committed to return to that way of eating so as to be healthy. I remember when I first considered the change it was a rather overwhelming thought.

That next Lenten Season my daughter-in-law and I agreed to be vegetarian for those forty days, albeit we agreed we could eat fish and eggs, otherwise we were to be committed to stick with veggies. It was when TruDee and I were in the Old Mill Tasty Shop and I ordered a hummus and bean sprout flat bread sandwich when it really hit me. I looked at TruDee and said, “You know just a year ago if you had told me I would order a bean sprout and hummus sandwich I would have said you were crazy!”

You know changing the way we do things is never easy. It is that way in life, it is that way in our faith journey, and it is that way in the church. When change presents itself I can simply refuse to participate because I am not comfortable with the change. Or I can choose to experience something new in order to get out of my box and out of my comfort zone. Change is never easy, it involves loss, it involves grief, but without change and stretching things will die and without change new life an vitality can never happen.

As a Progressive Christian Community we are part of a movement in the faith that is constantly evolving. Part of being such a community of faith is that willingness not only to know from where we have come, but a willingness to be open and embrace change and difference because we recognize the life giving value of such change and evolution. I pray we continue to be on the cutting edge of what it means to be “church,” and for us Not Your Ordinary “Church.”

Well, back to my coffee and pondering the salad that awaits me for lunch. Change is good. It is one of the many ways we seek to be faithful to the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the family. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table. Not Your Ordinary Church.
Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

