Zombies and the Power of Love

As most of you know I love movies. TruDee and I both do, and I am always sermonizing and theologizing them in my head as we watch wondering where and how they might “preach.” The other day I received a recommendation from our friend Gaye that we need to see a movie and it was a good sermon. She said it was the movie “Warm Bodies,” a zombie love story. My first response was, “Hmmmmmmm, a zombie movie?” She assured me it was good.

A week ago Sunday after church TruDee and I headed to the theater to see it. I confess I was still a bit skeptical, zombie movies have never really appealed to me on any level. But our friend was right. It wasn’t scary, the scenes where any sense of blood shed or goriness were pretty much left to one’s imagination, nothing on the screen. Maybe it was a little cutesy and/or cheesy in a place or two, but she was right, TruDee and I both found ourselves laughing, inspired, moved, and even a tear or two snuck out of the corner of my eye, either that or my allergies were starting to act up. Ha!

In some sense, though I have never seen a typical zombie movie, my take was this was a bit of a spoof of the typical genre. It really was a love story. But not just a love story between to two main characters, it was a story of the power of love. There are so many ways in this journey of life we can be dead so to speak. Lack of relationship, isolation, fear, hatred, suspicion, runs rampant in our culture and society. This movie was a critique of the ways we have found to push others way, to live in fear, not trusting or caring, a death comfortable in our own little world walled up to keep others out.

I will not spoil the movie for those of you who have not seen it other than to say this was a statement about the power of love that can reach beyond any obstacle and bring purpose, connection, and life. This Lenten season we have been talking here at College Hill about those things that can instill fear that hold us back; money, risk, dogma and doctrine, justice making, change and isolation. As we journey through this Holy Week in preparation for Easter Sunday we will continue pondering these and other things that might entomb us in fear as we look to Broadening the Table on Maundy Thursday and venture Into the Dark on Good Friday.

We will be considering these fears and coming together as a community to find ways to put those fears in their place an emerge from the ashes of fear into the Awakening of Love which not even death can hold. I hope you will join us this coming Sunday for The Awakening as we celebrate Easter morning as only College Hill can do, we are not your ordinary church. Thank you your continued witness, your welcoming, your grace, your love and Life! I am glad we have found our place at College Hill, I hope you will bring a friend who may be looking for just such a place. And after church, maybe you can go catch a good zombie movie!

It is one of the many ways we seek to be mindful of the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the community. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table. Not Your Ordinary Church. Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

