I Too Dream

I dream a world where there are more resources distributed toward peace, understanding, education, and social uplift than for military and defense buildup.

I dream a world where all are educated and paid a living wage in order to lift the least of these from poverty rather than perpetuating the problem.

I dream a world where grandmothers, mothers, daughters have safe access to healthcare, a world in which we trust women to make their own decisions regarding their bodies and reproductive care in consultation with their own doctors.

I dream a world where everyone will have the opportunity to vote for the government that is supposed to lead us without fear of intimidation, long lines, limited times, loss of employment, and lack of opportunity.

I dream a world where all persons, gay, straight, lesbian, bi, and transgender have access to health care, equal protection under the law, marriage, and the civil and human rights enjoyed by all.

I dream world where no one is illegal, a world where immigrants have a clear, concise, and simplified path toward citizenship in the country of their choice.

I dream a world where fear, suspicion, guns, violence, and confrontation are replaced by welcome, compassion, understanding, and respect.

I Dream a World… Filled with Justice for All Beyond My Wildest Dreams…

I dream a church that is ultimately truly inclusive not only in language but in practice.

I dream a church that works together with other religions in welcoming posture of respect and understanding what we can learn from one another to deepen our own respective faiths rather than what and how we might change them.

I dream a church guided by social outreach and service with the least of these rather than numerical statistics.

I dream a church where clergy such as me can fully celebrate in the gift of love through marriage between two persons regardless of their sexual orientation.

I dream a church where every person regardless of sexual orientation can fully serve in all aspects of the community of faith, lay and clergy, on both sides of the table.

I dream a church that says God loves everyone and welcomes everyone and then practices what it preaches.

I dream a church that honors its youth and young adults not because they are the future, but because they are the present, the here and now.

I dream a church where the hungry are fed, the thirsty are satisfied, the sick are visited, and the good news is shared that we are ALL children of the Divine.

I Dream a Church … Filled with Justice, Kindness, and Humility for All Beyond My Wildest Dreams…

Leave a Reply

