The Longest Night

ornamentEvery year it seems to sneak up on me. Sometimes it is triggered by a particular memory, something that is said, or something I see. Sometimes it just comes for no particular reason at all, it just happens.

This year it was this past Saturday morning. I was sitting in a chair in the living room surrounded by our dogs, a couple of cats, while pondering our Christmas Tree. It just happened as I studied the tree and my favorite ornaments. They are ones made by TruDee with various pictures of our families.

Reminiscing about the blessings of family and the season reminds me of how fortunate I have been in my life. Tears flowed filled with sentiments of not only the sadness of missing those who are no longer with us but the joy of having so many loving people who have helped guide me and shape my journey. And, tears are okay this time of year.

I have come to discover tears are a common thing around the Holiday Season. In the midst of the joy and celebration of Christmas and other holidays it can serve to also remind us of years past, how things have changed, loved ones no longer with us, the struggle of a lost job, the battle against a disease, or the heartache of lost and broken relationships.

This December 18th at 6:30pm in the Chapel at College Hill we will be gathering for a Longest Night Service. It will be a time to remember, a time to gather together in the midst of this Season and acknowledge that sometimes it is difficult, a struggle, and not always a joyful time. But most importantly we gather together, to be reminded of the love of this season, and to be mindful that we do not journey alone, we are immersed in the Spirit of Love, and we are ever connected to those around us, and we find grace, solidarity, and community in this time of celebrating the coming of the Christ Child again in our hearts.

I hope you will join us. It is one of the many ways we seek to be mindful of the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the community. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table. Not Your Ordinary Church. Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

