Simeon; Its Not About Me!

Simeon has never been one to want his head rubbed or his ears scratched. When he does want a little extra loving he walks up to where you are sitting and will let you scratch his back right at the base of his tail. He is also a “leaner,” if you are standing he gets in close and leans against your legs, I call it his hugs.

There are two habits of his that I like to give him a hard time about, as if he can understand the English language. One is if I reach to scratch his head or ears he ducks just as I get close. I tell him one of these days I am going to change his name to “Ducky!” The other habit that just drives me crazy is when I am sitting in my chair or on the couch and call him he will come to me, stop, and sit just out of reach. Knucklehead! I think he does it on purpose just to harass me!

Simeon is a very laid back, gentle, quiet, and low maintenance dog. He doesn’t require a lot of attention, he seems to be content just “being” with us. As I think about those habits of his that would appear at first glance as ornery or a lack of interest, I have come to believe in a different interpretation.

I want to believe, even though there are days the world seems to revolve around him, somewhere deep down in those soulful eyes, it is not about him. I want to get inside his head and hear him say, “You know it’s not about me. You don’t need to rub my head or scratch my ears, I’m not here for me, and I’m here for you.” And when he sits just out of reach I imagine him saying, “It’s okay, I’ll just sit here and watch over you, that’s what I do.”

I realize I am projecting my own wishes upon Simeon’s life and world, but it gives me comfort to imagine that is what he is about. I think our world would be a much more laid back, more gentle, kinder, quieter, and just world if we all took on a posture and attitude of, “I’m not here for me, I’m here for you and I will watch over you.” It reminds me of Mother Teresa’s words when she said, “If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other.”

As I write this morning in my office, Simeon has not felt well so he is here with me, sleeping peacefully at the side of my chair. It gives me comfort and peace to believe; somehow deep down in his soul and being, I belong to him and vice versa. Take care of yourselves, take care of others and may each of you find Peace within and without.

It is one of the many ways we seek to be mindful of the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the community. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table. Not Your Ordinary Church. Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

Peace and Light on Your Journey,
Pastor Kent

3 Responses to “Simeon; Its Not About Me!”

  1. Rosel Beyer Says:

    I would like to follow your blogs/talks but I have no idea how to do this. Advise needed

Leave a Reply

