Family

I dropped my cousin a note the other day to see if he wanted to go fishing. I have been saying to him and myself that we needed to do that for the last five years I have been in Wichita now. On my drive down to meet him I thought about the last time we fished together, 30, 35, 40 years…I thought, it’s been way too long and man am I old! We spent the morning together catching up on family and kids and life in general, and remembering good times. As for the fishing, I had one bite and he caught a perch about half the size of his hand. So, the catching wasn’t great, but the fishing was a welcome get together and we plan to do more of such.
After we traveled back to his house we exchanged phone numbers so more of these outings can happen regularly and I left. I drove from his house out to the cemetery where a good portion of my family is buried. I sat for a time on the cool grass pondering the years that have passed since the death of my brother, mother, grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles, and my dad. A lot of time has passed since those experiences as well.
I left the little cemetery and drove through town and remembered the house where we lived, drove by the little church we attended with my grandparents, and paused on the street outside the house my grandparents had owned and remembered all the games of hide and seek, kick the can, sliding down the wooden stairs, and the playing on the porch. A lot of years have passed since those days of grandparents and cousins and wrestling and play.
Last night we gathered with my sister and cousins on my mom’s side for a birthday dinner. My birthday dinner, we try to get together for each one of our birthdays even if for only an hour or two to eat and catch up on life, family, kids, grandkids, a little laughter and memories. It’s good that not so many years pass between those gatherings. I am grateful for my family, all of them, and though often too many years pass between times of connection and conversation, they are always close by in my thoughts and my heart. It can be easy to take those relationships and love for granted, I know I can be guilty of that, so don’t neglect the ones you love.
Take some time this week to remember your family, whether that is blood relation, close friends, or even say a community of faith like College Hill. Remember them, lift them in your thoughts, and hold them in The Light of the Spirit of Love and Compassion. Take some time to drop them a note, give them a call, or stop by and see them if it has been too long. Don’t let too many years pass between you and know we are immersed in the presence of the Divine that connects us always in a Love from which we cannot be separated.
Just a reminiscent pondering here from my desk as I consider one of the many ways we seek to be mindful of the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the community. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table. Not Your Ordinary Church. Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.
Peace and Light on Your Journey,
Pastor Kent

One Response to “Family”

  1. Judi Says:

    Dick and I hope to see you Memorial Day in Oxford.

Leave a Reply

