To live out “Open Hearts, Open Minds, Open Doors”

I had planned on writing thoughts about this on my blog first thing this morning. After reading my friend and colleague Rev. Cindy Watson’s words on her blog, I realized I don’t think I could add anything to the conversation more than she has already said. She has eloquently expressed my sentiments and feelings as well, so I will simply share on my blog what she has written. Thank you Cindy for your wisdom, voice, and word.

revcindylee

Yesterday, I was appointed for the 34th year in the United Methodist Church. The first time was in May of 1982, I was young, had absolutely no training and the then Kansas West Conference took a risk on a 23 year old who had a call to preach that was passionate, but perhaps not so directed. On July 1, I begin my tenth year as senior pastor at West Heights UMC. I am grateful, blessed and awed to still be in this church I love and experienced a call at the age of fourteen.

Before I really knew what it meant, I was a “feminist” and a “liberal” or “progressive.”  I experienced grace as an awkward, uncertain child and youth. I knew that in spite of voices and pressure in the opposite direction I wanted to be pastor/preacher and share grace and love and faith that I had found. I…

View original post 1,251 more words

Leave a Reply

