Stop, Breathe, and Be Mindful

Walk

I have been enjoying the nice weather we have had over the last week or so. I understand it will be getting colder, which of course is understandable as this is after all still the middle of winter. I had the honor and opportunity to be with our Agape Sunday School Class for their annual retreat a week ago. I appreciate the support of our congregation when I am away on a Sunday morning. I especially appreciate the retired clergy who relate to our church and their help and support of me and our community, and as for this note want to thank Keith Williamson for his presence, leadership, and work the weekend of the 24th in my absence.

 
One of the things that I was reminded of in my weekend away is how we can all get caught up in the busy world surrounding us. And for me, on that weekend, even though I was the facilitator of the retreat, I was able to embrace it as retreat for myself as well. It is good to step away from the hectic, busy, fast paced world we live in and try to simply breathe and be. Those kinds of experiences nourish our mind, body, and soul.

 
All of this being said, it is important to be mindful as well that one does not need a whole weekend to renew oneself. A day, an hour, twenty minutes, sometimes just a moment of reflection and meditation can bring renewal and centering. I have a mindfulness chime loaded on my laptop and each hour on the hour it chimes, a reminder to simply stop for a moment, take a deep breath, and be present. It is a simple practice doable almost anywhere.

 
TruDee and I took advantage of such an opportunity just last evening after we had dinner. We took a walk around the water just behind Bradley Fair off of Rock Road and 21st Street. We walked just at sunset and we were able to simply be together, on a short walk, and soak in the tranquility of the smooth water, the gliding of the ducks across the surface, the brilliance of the sunset, good company, and presence.

 
Take some time this week to just stop, notice, and be mindful of the grace and love in which you are immersed. Breathe and be grateful.

 
It is one of the many small ways we seek to be mindful of the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the community. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table. Not Your Ordinary Church. Until next tme, God bless, and know you are never alone.

 
Peace and Light on Your Journey,
Kent

Leave a Reply

