Clanging Cymbal

Early Monday morning here at the church, once the coffee was in the cup, I wandered into the sanctuary for some quiet and meditation time. I found a pew about half way back and sat down. I love our sanctuary, a little dated perhaps, but for its 1950’s style I am sure it was state of the art, and it is still a beautiful space and place to be.

Dark other than the light that streamed in from the stained glass behind me as well as washing over the altar area. There I sat, just me the sounds of the outside world, and a cup of coffee; serene, quiet, subdued, prayerful, and calming, it is a good morning.

It startled me a bit at first, as I shifted my weight in my seat, though the noise was muffled and not very loud. I slid over just a bit to find that I was not alone in this grand space oMonkeyf worship and celebration. There wasn’t much life left in the critter as I picked it up and held it in my hand. I twisted the knob on its side which immediately brought it back to full life. A child’s toy, a walking, cymbal playing monkey had been left behind by a little one. It brought a smile to my face and a little warmth to my heart.

This encounter reminded me of the unrestrained and unbounded love of a child. Nothing fills my heart more that to see the smile on my granddaughters face, or a hug and embrace, high five, or handshake from a little one. There is an authenticity and genuineness of a child’s love. Watching this monkey clanging the cymbals reminds me of something Paul said, for all we do and say… without love, we are just rattling around making noise.

It was a simple reminder of the children who grace our community of faith, filled with energy, laughter, and love. It was a simple reminder that even the remnant of their presence can be sign we do not journey this journey of life and faith alone. And the knowledge and fact of that, not unlike the twist of a kind word, laughter, or a child’s embrace, can bring us back to life as well.

Take some time this week and every week to appreciate and notice the joy of the little ones in your midst. Remember what it was like and let the Presence fill you with new life. If anyone recognizes this critter and wishes to return it to its rightful owner it will be here in my office and I will gladly return it. In the meantime, I suspect, periodically one might find it clanging the cymbals and taking a stroll across my desk.

It is one of the many small ways we seek to be mindful of the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the community.  Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table. Not Your Ordinary Church. Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

Peace and Light on Your Journey,

Pastor Kent

Leave a Reply

