Mother’s Day

I confess, for the most part, this writing is a rerun. I wrote this a few years ago, and as I considered the upcoming Sunday, I thought it appropriate to share once more. I have edited it a bit here and there with current thoughts and pondering, but the truth is still present and my appreciation and love of those who love still resides deeply in my heart.

I am pondering Mother’s Day today as it approaches this coming Sunday. Doing a little reading on the origins  of there day here is a bit of what I found; “The modern holiday of Mother’s Day was first celebrated in 1908, when Anna Jarvis held a memorial for her mother in Grafton, West Virginia. She then began a campaign to make “Mother’s Day” a recognized holiday in the United States. Although she was successful in 1914, she was already disappointed with its commercialization by the 1920s.” (Wikipedia) It is true we, especially in the United States, tend to commercialize anything that comes along in order to make a few bucks off of an originally innocent gesture toward someone or something.

That being said, today I am pondering Mother’s Day in my own context. My own mother is no longer with us she died at the age of 49 due to complications from Multiple Sclerosis and Cancer. I have to say, while embracing my own bias, she was perhaps the closest person I have ever known that really was near Sainthood; a woman whose life and faith were grounded in unconditional love and grace.

I am grateful for all the mothers I have had in my life. In each community we lived as I was growing up, I suspect partly to compensate for mom’s disease and inability to always be present, there always emerged a mom figure for me. I have often suspected though it was never revealed to me, that mom invited these other mothers to give her a hand in raising me; Medrith, Maxine, Gerry, Iverna, Vivian, and Phyllis just to name a few, and of course Gladys my mother-in-law but no less a mom to me. In retrospect I have had a long history of loving mom influence in my life and they all loved me in spite of me.

As my own journey of life and faith has evolved I have come to know mothering is not only about blood relation or who gave one birth. Some have not experienced a mother who was unconditional in their loving, there has been abandonment, neglect, abuse, and other atrocities done by mothers to their children and one must be sensitive to that reality especially this time of year. And I always take time to hope and pray for those in these situations they are able to find a mothering example to feed and nurture their soul and spirit.

I have also come to know mothering also transcends gender, mothering is an act of unconditional love and care which is practiced by both male and female, in families of opposite gender parents, same gender parents, couples and partners, as well as single parent families. Mothering is about acceptance, care, protection, justice, kindness, guidance, and most importantly love. This should be the foundation of all of our lives whatever role we have in our families and communities.

Join us this coming Sunday as we celebrate Mother’s Day and the feminine characteristics of God at College Hill United Methodist Church, Not Your Ordinary Church inviting you to, “Find Your Place at CHUM!

It is one of the many ways we seek to be mindful of the Spirit and one another here at the Hill, where you are one of the community. Here where there is always an open door, a safe space, a warm welcome, and a place at the table. Not Your Ordinary Church. Until next week, God bless, and know you are never alone.

Peace and Light on Your Journey,
Pastor Kent

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

