Archive for September 6th, 2017

Speaking of Faith

September 6, 2017

“I’m spiritual but not religious.” I hear that now and then as I visit with persons inside and outside the church. Another popular cliché I hear is “Christianity is not a religion it is a relationship.” While I think I understand the sentiments and feelings behind these comments, and I can even relate to them on my own level, I have always had a bit of a negative reaction when I hear them.

I am not one who is immune to critiquing organized religion, it has plenty of reasons to be criticized. However, to criticize religion as a blanket statement, I have never thought was fair or necessary. There is some truth to the notion that being spiritual without connection to some forms, doctrines, and practices of organized religion can be a good and freeing thing. There is some truth, though I think less so than the first, that Christianity is a relationship not a religion. While I understand the thought behind the latter, Christianity, good, bad, indifferent…is a religion.

All this being said, as I read and listen to particular practices and beliefs from some Christians, I too have found myself disheartened and uninspired. I have said more than once that I have considered turning loose of the label of Christian and reclaiming the original label of those who embrace the life and ministry of Jesus as a Follower of the Way. So, yes, I confess, I too have my struggles. At the same time, there is a part of me that says, “No!” That is my word too! I too am a Christian and I shouldn’t let the behavior, beliefs, or practices of others determine how I identify myself.

I am reminded of a favorite author, scholar, and theologian, the late Marcus Borg. He shares a common experience when it came to belief in God, that I believe can be used to speak to this topic today. He shared that often a student would come to his class and on the first day say something to the extent of, “Dr. Borg, I just want you to know I do not believe in God.” He would respond with, “Tell me about the God you do not believe in.” This exchange would lend itself to a conversation about God and Borg shared, “Often the student would discover I did not believe in the God the student did not believe in either.” I think if we use this same logic and exchange when we say, “I’m spiritual not religious,” or “Christianity is not a religion but a relationship,” one might respond, “Tell me about the religion, or the church, you do not believe in.” I have to believe, often, we would discover the religion or church others do not agree or believe in, would be the same religion or church neither of us believe or agree with.

The next two Sunday’s we will be exploring these thoughts during our services. On September 10, 2017, we will talk about “Does Religion Matter?” And then on September 17, 2017 we will talk about “Speaking of Faith.” I will be utilizing information and comments from the book, Tired of Apologizing for a Church I Don’t Belong To by Lillian Daniel. These two weeks we will be looking at religion and spirituality; are they really different or mutually exclusive? We will also be looking at the faith and perhaps thinking and rethinking how we speak of the Christian faith progressively. I hope you will join us as we consider religion, spirituality, and faith through a progressive lens.

It is one of the many ways we find the Way Forward in this journey of life and faith. Until next time, know you are loved, you are not alone, …ever.

Peace and Light for Our Journey,

Pastor Kent

